WhatsApp rolls out ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature; here’s how it works
Monday, October 30, 2017 IST
Facebook-owned messaging platform WhatsApp last week rolled out the most sought after feature – “Delete for Everyone.” As the name suggests, the feature allows users to revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.
“Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone,” Facebook-owned WhatsApp said in its updated FAQ last week. “In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone,” the micro-blogging platform said.
WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year. You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself.
“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp noted.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
Related Topics
Trending News & Articles
View Top 5 Mobile Chargers in India as on 08 Feb 2023. This rundown is compiled according t...
Recently posted . 19K views . 6 min read
HIGHLIGHTS
• Both laptops use the AMD Ryzen 5 3350H CPU and Radeon RX 560 GPU
• The...
Recently posted . 5K views . 2 min read
The following list of India's Top 5 Mobile Charger manufacture Brand 2019
Recently posted . 4K views . 0 min read