• Home
  • National News
  • Journalist and author Raghu Karnad wins $165,000 Windham-Campbell Prize
Journalist and author Raghu Karnad wins $165,000 Windham-Campbell Prize

Karnad won the prize in the non-fiction category for his book, ‘Farthest Field’, about India’s role in World War II.


Delhi-based journalist and author Raghu Karnad was announced as one of eight recipients of Yale University’s Windham-Campbell Prize this year, in London. One of the world’s most lucrative literary awards, the prize is open to English language writers from across the world, with each winner receiving $165,000 to support their writing.
Karnad was named as a winner in the non-fiction category of the prize for his debut book, Farthest Field: An Indian Story of the Second World War, published in 2015. Panning across Singapore, Eritrea, Libya, El Alamein, Basra, Arakan and Imphal, Farthest Field tells the story of three men from the same family serving in the Indian Army during World War II. Calling it an “epic of un-forgetting”, the prize lauded Karnad’s writing for combining forensic archival research with “imaginative fire and unsettling national and colonial histories”.
Karnad said, “I am still a bit stunned. But it is a thrill that this obscure and untold chapter of history, which deserves so much more attention, caught the attention of this awesome institution and jury.”


Established in 2013 after writer Donald Windham left his estate to Yale University, the Windham-Campbell Prize does not have a submission process and is judged anonymously, with winners only finding out through a phone call from director of the prize. The literary award aims to “call attention to literary achievements” and allow writers to “focus on their work independent of financial concerns”.
American writer Rebecca Solnit was named as the other winner in this year’s non-fiction category. The winners for fiction are Irish short story write Danielle McLaughlin and Canadian novelist David Chariandy. Ghanian poet Kwame Dawes and Ishion Hutchinson from Jamaica won for poetry and Australian playwright Patricia Cornelius and Korean-American director and playwright Young Jean Lee won in the Drama category.
Past winners of the prize include Jerry Pinto, Maya Jasanoff, Teju Cole and Geoff Dyer.



More in National
This Massive River Cleanup Will Make The Water Pollution Free For The ...

Most people tend to think that making a significant difference in a lake, river or ocean requires a lot of resources, money, time, connections, and a lot of people ...

Recently posted . 4 views

How are the votes counted? Here is ECI’s step-by-step process

The Election Commission of India has laid out an elaborate procedure in counting centers in constituencies across the country.

Recently posted . 3 views

Exit Polls: Meaning, Significance and Provisions

As we know that on 23rd May Lok Sabha elections 2019 are to be declared. Everyone eyes are on the 23rd May election results. And before the election results exit po...

Recently posted . 5 views

Who Invented Numbers?

Have You Ever Wondered... -- Who invented numbers? -- Which famous mathematicians...

Recently posted . 6 views

Masked Men Fire 13 Bullets at Delhi 'Tik Tok' Star & Gym Trainer, Kill...

When Mohit Mor was busy talking with his friend inside a shop, three armed persons barged inside the shop and indiscriminately fired 13 bullets on him.

Recently posted . 7 views

Food, call bell, phone: Cave PM Modi meditated in can be rented for Rs...

Rudra meditation cave, which GMVN officials say, was built after Modi suggested the concept of meditation caves in the area, is located around one km upwards of K...

Recently posted . 7 views



Thought of the day

Art is not the name of the copy of reality, art seems reality and that is the specialty of a true Art.
Premchand – the great Author of the India.