• Home
  • National News
  • PM Tweets Rahul Gandhi, Virat Kohli, Karan Johar, Khans With One Message
PM Tweets Rahul Gandhi, Virat Kohli, Karan Johar, Khans With One Message

Lok Sabha elections 2019: PM Modi tagged some of India's best-known names - Sachin Tendulkar, Ratan Tata, AR Rahman, PV Sindhu, Ranveer Singh, Vicky Kaushal and Deepika Padukone.


NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi covered a wide spectrum of politicians, sportsmen, journalists and film stars -- from Rahul Gandhi and Mamata Banerjee to Virat Kohli, Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal -- in a Twitter blitz this morning calling on them to encourage more people to vote in the April-May national election.
"Many youngsters admire you. It is time to tell them: Apna Time Aa Gaya Hai and that it is time to turn up with high Josh to a voting centre near you," he tweeted Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal, using wildly popular catchphrases from their blockbuster movies "Gully Boy" and "Uri".
The first of his 29 rapid-fire tweets went to bitter opponents - Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Sharad Pawar, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, Tejashwi Yadav and MK Stalin. PM Modi appealed to them to "encourage increased voter participation in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. A high turnout augurs well for our democratic fabric."
In his next tweets, he tagged Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy and YSR Congress leader Jagan Mohan Reddy.
"A vote is a great way to make the people's voice heard," he tweeted legendary singer Lata Mangeshwar and composer AR Rahman.


For filmstars, the tweets referenced popular dialogues.
Former cricketers were also tagged.
"Come, it is time to inspire people once again, this time to vote in record numbers," PM Modi tweeted Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman and Virendra Sehwag.
The Prime Minister is one of the most social-media politicians in the world and has a massive 46.3 million followers on Twitter.
PM Modi is seeking a second term in the national elections that will be held in seven rounds from April 11 to May 19 across the country. The results will be declared on May 23.



More in National
5 Holi Colours That Are Safe For The Vibrant Festival

The Swirlster Picks team writes about stuff we think you'll like. Swirlster has affiliate partnerships, so we get a share of the revenue from your purchase....

Recently posted . 3 views

Dalai Lama says possible his incarnation could be found in India

Born in 1935, the current Dalai Lama was identified as the reincarnation of his predecessor when he was two years old.

Recently posted . 3 views

CISF Deploys 6 Mahindra Marksman Armoured Personnel Carrier at Delhi I...

The Quick Response Team (QRT) unit of CISF has deployed 6 APCs wearing the CISF’s white and blue livery as shared on their Twitter handle.

Recently posted . 5 views

NCERT to Drop Chapters on Caste Struggles, Colonialism From Class 9 Hi...

Previously, the CBSE had issued a circular informing affiliated schools that the section on ‘Caste Conflict and Dress Change’ would be "omitted fro...

Recently posted . 4 views

Explained: Who is Pawan Kalyan, and what is the Jana Sena?

Actor-turned-politician Konidela Pawan Kalyan belongs to the Kapu community, but he says it would be a mistake to call the Jana Sena a Kapu party, or assume that ...

Recently posted . 3 views



Thought of the day

It's your life. Don't let anyone make you feel guilty for living it your way