What is PUJA

The word ‘puja’is a commonly used Sanskrit word. It is used by people, who do not even know Sanskrit, as it is present in almost every Indian language. The widely used meaning of the word ‘puja’ is worship. However, it is necessary to see the other meanings and the origins of this Sanskrit word. Sanskrit is a classical language like Greek, Latin, and Persian. And in Sanskrit, as in most classical languages, most words are derived from a stem or root.


The word ‘puja’ is derived by adding the suffix a in the passive voice to the root puj. The suffixes of ang and tap are also added sometimes. The word ‘puja’ means worship, salute, honour, adore, praise, laud, the ritual of worship, the sixty-four rites of worshipping Shakti, austerities, contemplation, honouring of guru, the worship of weapons and vehicles before war, action, the establishment of the different faces of different forms of Shakti, the aids for doing ritual worship, culture, respect, reverence, homage to superiors, adoration of the gods, and homage.
In the sense of ritual worship, puja can involve a structure with many elaborate steps. The place of worship and the person who does the worship have to be physically clean. The worshipper has to start the puja with a calm and spiritually-oriented pure mind.
First, the avahana or the invoking of the deity is done. Then, the deity is offered a seat or asana. In the next step of padya, the deity’s feet are washed, symbolically or physically. Water is also offered for complete washing of the deity’s body. Arghya is water offered to the deity for washing the mouth. In snana or abhisheka, water is symbolically offered for the symbolic bathing of the deity. Then, vastra or clothes are given to the deity. Then the sacred thread is put on the deity. Then, perfumes or anointments are applied on the deity through gandha. The deity is offered abharana or ornaments.The deity is also offered chhatra or umbrella. Flowers or pushpa are offered to the deity.
Then, dhupa or incense is offered to the deity. Naivedya or food offering is given to the deity. Achamaniya or water is offered for sipping by the deity. A lamp or arati is waved before the deity. The deity is offered chamara or fly-whisk. The worshipper then prostrates before the deity, thus offering namaskar or pranam. Then, the worshipper does a parikrama or circumambulation of the deity. In some rituals, there is visarjana or moving the deity or saying farewell to the deity.


There are various versions of puja based on the number of offerings, like pancha-upachara or five offerings, dasha-upachara or ten offerings, shodasha-upachara or sixteen offerings, or chatushashthi-upachara or sixty-four offerings.
Often, the elaborate steps of puja are shortened into a brief and quick version, enabling people without much knowledge of rituals also to be able to perform worship.
Some schools of the Purva-Mimamsa system of philosophy critique the performance of puja and consider it a false ritual because images cannot accept offerings. In Sanatana Dharma or Hinduism, puja is performed on images or pictures of deities.



More in Spiritual
10 Powerful Crystals Everyone Should Own

Crystals, gems and diamonds aren't just for ladies. They also aren't just for show and tell. For thousands of years, gemstones have been used for their heal...

Recently posted . 0 views

* द्रौपदी के मुकाबले विश्व इतिहास में दूसरी स्त्री नहीं *

एक छोटे से मजाक से महाभारत पैदा हुआ। एक छोटे से व्यंग से, द्रौपदी के कारण जो दुर्योधन के मन में तीर की तरह चुभ गया और द्रौपदी नग्न की गई। नग्न कि गई; हुई नहीं--यह...

Recently posted . 146 views

The Spiritual Roots Of Hair

Hair is a central facet of our appearance, something that both men and women take great pride in, but does its purpose run deeper? Not only is hair a key represen...

Recently posted . 95 views



Thought of the day

As he was valiant, I honor him. But as he was ambitious, I slew him.